What do we mean by Career Management Skills?

Career Management Skills (CMS) are defined as a set of competences (knowledge, skills, attitudes) that enable citizens at any age or stage of development to manage their learning and work life paths .

How is this model structured?
  1. Career learning areas

    The framework groups career management skills into 6 thematic career learning areas. Each area describes the skills, attributes, attitudes, and knowledge that the framework seeks to develop in individuals. The grouping is the result of a comparative analysis of existing frameworks from all over the world and considers several aspects related to recent changes in the socio-economic and cultural environment specifically related to the main drivers of change in the European and international scenarios.

  2. Levels of activation

    Career learning areas are divided into levels which move from less to more action of the individual. The first is defined as “Expanding career knowledge” and includes key knowledge and skills which are fundamental for expanding knowledge and awareness in relation to self, the individual’s strengths, relationships, and the world with special focus on the labour market. The second level is defined as “Monitoring and Reflecting” and includes the development of skills to support active engagement and monitoring of the individual’s career development. The third level is defined as “Planning my Career” and provides the skills needed to address the main steps and changes of the individual’s career. These levels are also related to the different levels of support to be provided to the individual by practitioners/educators in learning the different career learning areas, the type of services to be provided, the competences of who delivers the services to be provided.

  3. Levels of proficiency

    For each skill of the CMS framework, it is conceptualised how learning is expected to happen. The levels of proficiencies describe the stages of development that an individual goes through in and for each skill. The levels are directly related to the learning model adopted (Bloom’s taxonomy) which foresees 4 stages: acquire (knowledge acquisition), apply (demonstration of knowledge), personalise (integration of learning and knowledge), act (knowledge transformation and creation).

Give us a feedback on the CMS model


Czech republic